click tracking
  • 4796 Old Highway 99 North
  • Alger, WA 98233
  • (360) 724-3567


Schatz Sweeps Skagit

Schatz Sweeps Skagit
Schatz Sweeps Skagit
Schatz Sweeps Skagit
Schatz Sweeps Skagit

Alger, WA – For the third consecutive race at Skagit Speedway and fifth time in a row with the World of Outlaws STP Sprint Cars, Donny Schatz emerged from the Tony Stewart Racing #15 in Victory Lane.

From the pole starting position, Schatz would settle in behind Joey Saldana in the early stages of the 35 lap Monster Energy Meltdown. With Saldana working the cushion, Schatz experimented with the middle groove before going to the bottom and picking up speed as the lead pack hit traffic. As slower cars loomed, Schatz used the inside groove to roll under Saldana and picked up the lead on lap 13. Brad Sweet would slip past Saldana shortly after as the pair worked through heavy lapped cars. Sweet would run right up to Schatz’s rear nerf in traffic on multiple occasions but never quite could get into to position to attempt or make a pass. A lap 19 restart gave Schatz clean air and the opportunity to build a lead, which he would capitalize on and cruise away to sweep both nights of action at Skagit Speedway. The win gives him three straight dating back to the 2013 event at the track, five straight with the World of Outlaws and his 19th win on the season. Should he score win number twenty down the road, he’ll be the first World of Outlaws driver to post consecutive twenty win seasons since Steve Kinser in 2002-2003. Sweet would settle for second on the night and Saldana ran third. Saldana was the quick qualifier. Kerry Madsen, David Gravel and Kraig Kinser won heat races. Schatz won the dash and Jason Solwold won the Last Chance Showdown.

Tyler Fox became the third ever winner of the Sportsman Sprint Showdown at Skagit Speedway. After advancing from 4th to second in the scramble, Fox drove around the outside of Cory Swatzina to take the lead on lap one of the twenty lap feature. Fox lead comfortably for the first half of the race while Swatzina worked to find a groove his car liked. The car came to Cory around lap ten as the pair hit slower cars. Swatzina showed a nose to Fox down the front straightaway around lap 13, but Tyler managed to close the door. A yellow flag bunched the field up on lap 15, and on the restart, Swatzina and Fox made contact, resulting in a wild flip from Cory. Fox made the most of his next restart opportunity, opening up an advantage on James Bundy that he would relinquish on the way to the biggest win of his career. Bundy grabbed second and Steve Reeves scored third. Swatzina won the scramble. Bill Rude won the B Feature.

The final event for the Shipwreck Beads Modifieds at Skagit Speedway in 2014 was won by Lawrence O’Conner. O’Conner, who was “a little ** off” after losing the lead in the last two laps of Friday’s feature, took the lead on lap three from Josh Muller and raced away to a nice sized advantage. Muller changed lines and made a run back at O’Conner, but the Port Hardy, BC native held strong to close his season at Skagit Speedway with a victory. Muller ran second and Kyler Moore took third.

World of Outlaws Sprint Cars
Fast Time – Joey Saldana 11.227
Heat 1 – Kerry Madsen, Jason Sides, Joey Saldana, Paul McMahon, Steve Kinser, Brock Lemley, Trey Starks, Kevin Smith, Jacob Allen
Heat 2 – David Gravel, Donny Schatz, Logan Schuchart, Daryn Pittman, Jonathan Jorgenson, Cody Darrah, Jason Solwold, Barry Martinez
Heat 3 – Kraig Kinser, Tayler Malsam, Brad Sweet, Shane Stewart, Travis Rilat, Jonathan Allard, Jesse Whitney, Skylar Gee
Dash – Donny Schatz, Joey Saldana, Paul McMahon, Brad Sweet, Kerry Madsen, Daryn Pittman, David Gravel, Kraig Kinser
Last Chance Showdown – Jason Solwold, Trey Starks, Kevin Smith, Barry Martinez, Jesse Whitney, Skylar Gee, Jacob Allen, Matt Jensen
A Main – Donny Schatz, Brad Sweet, Joey Saldana, Shane Stewart, Paul McMahon, Daryn Pittman, Kerry Madsen, Jason Sides, David Gravel, Jason Solwold, Kraig Kinser, Cody Darrah, Trey Starks, Logan Schuchart, Jonathan Allard, Tayler Malsam, Brock Lemley, Barry Martinez, Steve Kinser, Travis Rilat, Jesse Whitney, Skylar Gee, Kevin Smith, Jonathan Jorgenson
Lap Leaders – Saldana 1-12 Schatz 13-35

Sportsman Sprint Showdown
Scramble – Cory Swatzina, Tyler Fox, James Bundy, Steve Parker, Justin Bienert, Zach McCabe
B Main – Bill Rude, Robbie Price, Michael Hodel, Devin Barnes, Greg Otis, Clayton Sibley, Cale Brooke, Sean Johnson, Roger Oudman, Allison Journey, Brett McGhie, Glen Reinstra, Victoria Cantu, Ben Gunderson
A Main – Tyler Fox, James Bundy, Steve Reeves, Robbie Price, Bill Rude, Greg Otis, Michael Hodel, Dave Mead, Zach McCabe, Justin Bienert, Cale Brooke, Clayton Sibley, Devin Barnes, Dan McGrew, Cory Swatzina, Paul Burdick, Ashley Lewellen, Joe Lyon, Cory Samuelson, Brady Jansen
Lap Leaders – Fox 1-20

Shipwreck Beads Modifieds
Heat 1 – Graham Cook, Kyler Moore, Josh Muller, Dave Burns, Todd Hardesty
Heat 2 – Craig Moore, Lawrence O’Conner, Dave Wolford, Bryan Grey, David Bottoms
Main – Lawrence O’Conner, Josh Muller, Kyler Moore, Craig Moore, Dave Wolford, Bryan Grey, Dave Burns, Graham Cook, David Bottoms, Todd Hardesty
Lap Leaders – Muller 1-2 O’Conner 3-20

Craftsman World of Outlaws
Bobs Burger and Brew
Holiday Inn Skagit
Fairfield Inn  Suites
Foothills Toyota
Kasey Kahne Store 2013
Swinomish Casino
Angel of the Winds
Cook Road Shell
Holiday Inn Express
Les Schwab Tires
Lisa Dynes Photography
Dwayne Lane
High Society
Outlaw Energy

Skagit Speedway eFlyer & Links

Email Sign-up Grays Harbor Summer Thunder Washington Mods

Skagit Speedway Photos & Videos

Forgot Password?