click tracking
  • 4796 Old Highway 99 North
  • Alger, WA 98233
  • (360) 724-3567

Driver Profile

Malsam, Swatzina & Vela take home Hardware

Malsam, Swatzina & Vela take home Hardware
Malsam, Swatzina & Vela take home Hardware
Malsam, Swatzina & Vela take home Hardware
Malsam, Swatzina & Vela take home Hardware
Malsam, Swatzina & Vela take home Hardware

Alger, WA -- Fresh off of his top-five finish in the NASCAR Camping World Truck Series on Friday night, Rudeen Racing's Tayler Malsam took home the hardware in the 410 Sprint Car A-Main on Saturday night at Skagit Speedway. Malsam broke away from the field after race leader Austen Wheatley had a rear end failure under his 44W machine. The lead was then handed to Malsam and he drove on to the race win. Heat race winners were Jesse Whitney and Eric Fisher. The Quick Time award went to Matt Jensen who clocked in at an 11.012 second lap.

In the Cook Road Shell Sportsman Sprint class, Cory Swatzina was able to capture the race lead after leader Bill Rude was involved in an incident with lapped traffic on lap 11. As the field weaved through very heavy lapped traffic prior to the incident, Swatzina was able to make a pass on two cars to advance himself from the fourth position up to the second position. Just a few laps later, Swatzina inherited the race lead after a lapped car spun in front of Rude and collected the leader. In the closing laps, Tyler Fox reeled in the 2 car of Swatzina but was not able to make the pass before Swatzina took the checkers. Heat race wins went to Kenny Rutz, Zach McCabe and James Bundy. The Quick Time award went to Devin Barnes who qualified with a 12.579-second lap.

The Skagit Speedway Outlaw Tuners were back in action Saturday night and Freddie Vela took home the A Main trophy. Lap after lap, Vela and Matt Ploeg battled for the race lead which finally resulted in Vela making the pass on the inside of Ploeg to drive to the win. Third place went to series rookie Brian Michelson. Heat race winners were Matt Powers and Freddie Vela.

Skagit Speedway is back in action next week with the Shipwreck Beads Modifieds making their first appearance of 2014, joined by the 360 Sprint Cars, Sportsman Sprint Cars and Outlaw Tuners. Gates open at 5:30pm with racing at 7:00pm.

Skagit Speedway - Where Families Come to Have Fun!


410 Sprint Cars:

A Main (25 laps) - Tayler Malsam, Jesse Whitney, Eric Fisher, Steve Vague, Matt Jensen, Steve Reeves, Shane Vaillant, Michael Bollinger, Kevin Smith, Austen Wheatley, Brock Lemley

Heat One (8 laps) - Jesse Whitney, Matt Jensen, Austen Wheatley, Steve Vague, Steve Reeves, Shane Vaillant

Heat Two (8 laps) - Eric Fisher, Tayler Malsam, Brock Lemley, Kevin Smith, Michael Bollinger Quick Time: Matt Jensen - 11.012 seconds

Sportsman Sprint Cars:

A Main (20 laps) - Cory Swatzina, Tyler Fox, Kenny Rutz, Zach McCabe, James Bundy, Greg Otis, Devin Barnes, Steve Parker, Robbie Price, Clayton Sibley, Michael Hodel, Joe Lyon, Cale Brooke, Roger Oudman, Daniel McGrew, Josh Griffiths, Victoria Cantu, Sean Johnson, Bill Rude, Ashley Lewellen, Paul Burdick

Heat One (8 laps) - Kenny Rutz, Michael Hodel, Bill Rude, Devin Barnes, Roger Oudman, Dave Mead, Josh Griffiths, Victoria Cantu

Heat Two (8 laps) - Zach McCabe, Tyler Fox, Cory Swatzina, Paul Burdick, Clayton Sibley, Cale Brooke, Sean Johnson

Heat Three (8 laps) - James Bundy, Ashley Lewellen, Steve Parker, Robbie Price, Greg Otis, Joe Lyon, Daniel McGrew Quick Time: Devin Barnes - 12.579 seconds

Craftsman World of Outlaws
Bobs Burger and Brew
Holiday Inn Skagit
Fairfield Inn  Suites
Foothills Toyota
Kasey Kahne Store 2013
Swinomish Casino
Angel of the Winds
Cook Road Shell
Holiday Inn Express
Les Schwab Tires
Lisa Dynes Photography
Dwayne Lane
High Society
Outlaw Energy

Skagit Speedway eFlyer & Links

Email Sign-up Grays Harbor Summer Thunder Washington Mods

Skagit Speedway Photos & Videos

Forgot Password?